To facilitate operations the territory is divided into two almost equal parts designated as the District of Montreal and the District of Quebec. The Director has his office at Montreal and an Assistant Director is situated at the city of Quebec. Working under these Directors are two Deputies and an Inspector General. In each District the Police Force is divided into three sections: the detective corps, the constabulary and the traffic officers; each section is in charge of a captain supported by a number of lieutenants and sergeants.

A province-wide frequency modulation radio-communication system has been established at Montreal. A main station operating on the top of Mount Royal directs radio equipped cars within a radius of between 60 and 80 miles around Montreal; similar stations operating from the cities of Quebec and Three Rivers direct the mobile units operating in their respective areas. Substations operate at each of the eight bridges giving access to or exit from the city of Montreal and a number of cars, all equipped with frequency modulation three-way radio units, patrol the surrounding country day and night.

Ontario Provincial Police.—Maintained by the Ontario Government under the Attorney-General's Department, the Force is responsible for law enforcement in the rural and unorganized parts of the Province and in certain municipalities by contract.

The development of the Force from its beginning in the early years of Confederation to the passing of the Police Act in 1946 is outlined in the 1950 Year Book, pp. 332-333.

The Force, with a strength of approximately 1,416 in 1954, consists of a General Headquarters at Toronto and 16 Districts with headquarters respectively at Chatham, London, Dundas, Niagara Falls, Newmarket, Mount Forest, Barrie, Peterborough, Belleville, Perth, Cornwall, North Bay, Sudbury, Timmins, Port Arthur and Kenora. Each District has detachments adequate to meet law enforcement requirements. A Criminal Investigation Branch under the command of a Chief Inspector is maintained at Toronto to handle crimes of a major nature.

The installation of one of the largest police frequency-modulation radio systems in the world has placed at the command of the police a most efficient method of combatting every type of lawlessness. There are in operation 59 fixed stations, together with 448 two-way radio cruisers and four cabin cruisers, one each on Lake Temagami, Lake Simcoe, Lake Nipissing and Georgian Bay. The 250 watt station at each District Headquarters is open 24 hours daily and many of the cars are on continuous round-the-clock patrol.

Up to December 1954, 83 municipalities had availed themselves of the provisions of the Police Act for the policing of their municipalities by the Ontario Provincial Police.

Subsection 3.—Municipal Police Statistics

Police statistics were submitted for the year 1953 by Chiefs of Police in 245 urban centres, 16 district communities, 16 townships and one unorganized district, all of 4,000 population or over. The ratio of police per 1,000 population in urban centres of 4,000 population or over was as follows:—

Province	Police per 1,000 Population	Province	Police per 1,000 Population
Newfoundland	2.1	Manitoba	1.4
Prince Edward Island	. 1.1	Saskatchewan	1.1
Nova Scotia	. 1.1	Alberta	1.3
New Brunswick	. 1.5	British Columbia	1.4
Quebec	. 1.6	•	
Ontario	. 1.4	CANADA	1.5

Summary police statistics are shown separately for urban centres of 10,000 population or over in each province in Table 32, with totals for centres of from 4,000 to 10,000 population. The figures in the column "Offences Known to the Police" include offences and attempted offences which became known to the police, having been reported by any person (including a police officer). Complaints about offences or attempts which, upon investigation, prove to be groundless are not included. Offences known to the police provide the basic data for estimating the prevailing volume and trends of criminality.